#TBT A Game of Frisbee in the Himalayas, and a Cow

Welcome to my new #ThrowbackThursday series! As I’m currently trying to be “normal” with a “real job” and all that fun stuff, I’ve decided to do a throwback to all of those little stories that never made it into my blog while I was on the road, the ones that made me smile and laugh, whether it was in the moment or after the fact. These posts are simply meant to entertain and to remind us to appreciate those silly little moments in life.

Facebook recently “shared a memory” with me from three years ago when I was sitting in Khajjiar having tea with friends, so I’ve decided that will be my first throwback post. Enjoy!

India, November 2012

During my semester abroad in India, we were given an entire week off for Diwali (a holiday that’s kind of a big deal there). My friends and I used this time to explore a new area of the giant country we called home that semester, and we headed North for the holiday.

We visited a few different hill stations, including Dalhousie and nearby Khajjiar where we stopped to walk around and have a chai. It was a nice respite from the long drive, and we re-energized with a little game of frisbee. It was one of those surreal moments where you stop and think, Is this really my life right now? Am I really playing frisbee in the middle of the Himalayas, 8,000 miles away from home?

Frisbee1
Khajjiar (Himachal Pradesh, India). November 2012.

We continued to question reality when we were sitting at a little cafe having tea and a cow came over to say hi. Life can be weird sometimes. And highly entertaining.

CowFriend_Katie_Khajjiar
Oh, hello there. Khajjiar (Himachal Pradesh, India). November 2012.

Also, we met this friendly little guy and it was hard not to take him home.

Dog_Khajjiar

Here’s to frisbee, chai, and overly-friendly animals.

xx A

Leave a Reply

