Island Adventures (Croatia Part 3)

We spent the last day of the Motion Tour on a little island called Proizd, which, according to the World Wide Web, is the best beach in Croatia. I am going to have to agree with the Internet on this one. It was paradise. Absolute paradise.

IMG_1532
A bunch of parkour kids on a boat. Croatia. August 2015.
IMG_1539
Taxi Boat. Proizd. August 2015.
IMG_1543
Our taxi to Proizd. August 2015.

We spent the day playing in the pristine turquoise waters, climbing and jumping around on the rocks, and working on our tans. While we were playing along the water’s edge, we found a nice little climbing challenge. It wasn’t that hard really, but the consequences would have been…uncomfortable. The challenge was to traverse a section of rock that was above a stream of water. A stream of water completely filled with sea urchins. I knew if I fell it would have been hard to avoid those spiky little demons. I hesitated at first, but I clung to that salty rough rock surface with my tired little fingers (hello, grip strength) and scooted across to the other side. Challenge complete! I was proud of myself and glad that my friends made me go for it.

We scurried our way back over the rocks to cool off in the water and sit in the sun. Then, after a long morning of play and relaxation, it was time for lunch. We had a delicious feast of grilled meats and vegetables. We bought the meat & veggies ahead of time before we left Korčula since there is only one restaurant on the little island of Proizd, and we used the grill at the restaurant to cook our food. Pretty good deal!

After lunch, we went back to exploring the island. In the morning, we had one beach all to ourselves, but more people started coming later in the day. Even so, it wasn’t overly crowded and it was too beautiful to care, really. The white pebbles sparkled in the sun, the crystal clear waters gently washed over our feet, and the sea was a perfect temperature– refreshing at first but warm enough to stay in for hours. I never wanted to leave!

IMG_1547
Beaches this way –> Proizd. Croatia. August 2015.
IMG_1548
One of the beaches on the island of Proizd. August 2015.

Eventually, we had to say goodbye to our little island of paradise. We packed up our things and somehow wiggled into our sweaty parkour clothes to head back to Korčula where we would have an evening training session. I was tired and cranky at first after being in the hot sun all day, but once I had a proper warm-up and started playing, I felt better.

In the last session of the day, we did some precision jumps and played follow the leader. I was having fun, finding my flow and working on my foot placement and power. Fear also made an entrance in that training session. There were some things I knew I could probably do, but it scared me a bit. For example, I hate drop precisions. I mean I really hate them. I’d rather climb to the top of the Dame du Lac 50 times than precision down a few feet below me. We all have our weaknesses.

There was one drop precision in particular that I was dreading, but a few things helped me do it. One, the teacher had faith in me. Sometimes we just need someone to tell us we can do it. Two, he gave me an out. “If you don’t feel it, don’t do it,” he said. I don’t know if anyone has ever said that to me, but it was exactly what I needed to hear. I checked in with myself. How do I feel right now? Do I feel that I can do it? Yes, I’m just scared. Okay then, give it a go. The teacher stood next to the curb where I would be landing just in case (another thing that helped me), and I went for it. I felt a rush after I landed, feeling proud of myself for trying, and I got back up and made the jump a few more times. The landing didn’t even matter, I think what was more important to me is that I tried. I got over the fear.

After a few more attempts, we moved on to some other challenges and skills along the wall. Before I knew it, the day was over. We were all having a lot of fun but it had to come to an end eventually, and we headed over to a big green space for a group stretch and talk before dinner.

I was only there for the last two days of the Motion Tour, but I had an amazing experience. It was such a great group of people and I learned a lot in that short time. Most importantly, I felt inspired and motivated. I don’t know where in the world I will be next time, but I hope to make it to the Motion Tour again in the future. Huge thanks to the organizer, coaches, local hosts, and new friends for making it such a wonderful, fun adventure.

Leave a Reply

