Fallen Clouds & Pretty Colors

I made it! Step 1 of the journey is complete. I took an overnight from DC to London via Iceland, which is not really an overnight because it’s only 5 and something hours and you’re really confused when you get off the plane. I slept a little but I kept being distracted by the absolutely gorgeous views outside of my window. I’m all for aisle seats so I can get up and walk around, but I’m really glad I chose the window seat this time around.

I’d never seen anything like this before. For a while it was just pretty light, but then the horizon dropped off and it actually looked like I was on top of the world. And then there were the fallen clouds. I was half-asleep and exhausted and the light wasn’t great so I spent about 20 minutes trying to figure out what I was looking at–clouds or ice. I really couldn’t tell. It looked as if a collection of clouds had descended upon the ocean and started melting into the waves.

Then the landscape changed and I was looking at some sort of rocky mountains covered in snow and ice in the middle of the ocean. It looked like volcanic rock, but don’t hold me to that–I have no idea what I’m talking about. All you need to know is it looked incredible. I spent the rest of the flight trying to keep my eyes open, staring in wonder at this strange landscape with the most beautiful colors I’d ever seen. Pink blending into orange, into green, into blue. All soft pastels flowing into each other and covering the ice/snow/clouds in a beautiful rainbow.

I looked down my row to the opposite window and saw a blanket of deep orange light covering that side of the world. It was funny to me that the light on one side of the plane could be so different than the other. I tried to snap a few photos (okay, a lot of photos) but no picture could do this view justice. I thought it was fitting that the wing of the plane had a cute little note written on it, “Enjoying the view?” Yes, yes I am.

IMG_0136 IMG_0138

When we made it to Iceland, I walked off the plane and straight onto the next one, eventually making it into London later that morning. I was lucky enough to have a good friend come and pick me up from the airport so we could spend the day together. Just what I needed! Plus a hot shower and a good night’s sleep. This week has been crazy getting ready for my trip, packing up my life, moving, etc. so it was nice to just relax for a day.

I’m at the airport now, my new home for the next several months. Grabbing a solid breakfast before I head into the unknown… well, almost. I have 24 hours in Frankfurt, THEN I’m headed into the unknown. Why am I making all these random 24 hour stops? Ah, the joys of traveling on a budget!

Travel tip: Icelandic airlines are your friend. I flew WOW Air from London to DC (via Reykjavic) and it was 2-3x cheaper than every other option. I did have to pay to check my bag, but even with that extra fee it was worth it.

Leave a Reply

