Here I Go Again…

In the last year, I have lived and studied in two different countries, I have helped to organize a massive event for my parkour community, I have had brain surgery and recovered, I have had an old knee injury become new again, and recovered, and I have (finally!) finished grad school.

Sounds exhausting, right?

I’m very proud and excited about all of the things I have accomplished so far, and I plan to continue working to make a difference in the world, but I think I deserve a break. It has been a fantasy of mine for a long time to go off and travel on my own. No plan, no school or work to think about, just me and my backpack. Damn, I’m becoming a post-grad backpacking stereotype. Well, screw it. I’ll be that stereotype then if it’s easier for you to understand why I’m doing this. But do I really need a reason to travel? To meet new people and experience new cultures? To challenge myself and learn new things?

But, A, you just did that! True, I just got back from Paris a few months ago, but it’s not enough. There is so much more to be seen and experienced. And what better time than right now, right this second? I have no job, no school, no boyfriend, no lease, absolutely nothing holding me anywhere. So, why not?

First stop: the Caucasus. Next, I’ll head back to Europe, stopping in France, Spain, Portugal, Greece, Croatia, Austria, the UK, and… I think that’s enough. For now. If you’re in any of those places or want to meet up with me somewhere, let me know!

The thought of going off with all of my belongings in one little backpack, with no homebase and nothing to come back to is, well, a little terrifying. But it is also incredibly liberating. I can do anything I want. The world is my oyster. Whatever that means. And I intend to take full advantage of it! After all,

StAugustine

See you soon

xo A

Leave a Reply

